New Members Of WSAC Announced

With an objective to bring transparency in working and have open communication with Olympics sailors, World’s Sailing’s Athletes’ commission has been formed. This was the decision of the World Sailing Board of Director.

The commission comprises of five sailors that has been selected from World based on voting. World’s sailing’s athletes’ commission will directly report to World Sailing Board of Director. The commission will work under the supervision of Board of Director and will work with the benefits of sports persons belonging to this game.

The five members that have been chosen to be the part of the commission are Jo Aleh (NZL), Maayan Davidovich (Dubrovnik Yacht Charter), Sofia Bekatorou (GRE), Vasilij Žbogar (SLO) and Juan Ignacio Maegli (GUA). They will join the existing team members Yann Rocherieux (FRA), Saras Gosling (GBR) and Lijia Xu (CHN).

For present term of commission i.e. from 2016-2024 Yann Rocherieux will be the chair and Sofia Bekatorou will be vice-chair. All members of the commission are successful sailors and have been chosen by an open voting method. They will represent the interest of sports person and will take necessary actions to encourage this sport Worldwide.

They will participate in all important activities related to sports and motivate sports persons. The commission acted as a link between Olympic Sailors and International Sailing Federation.

The commission was started with an objective to establish open communication between organizers and player. To run each term the best sportspersons from sailing is selected to head the commission. The commission members chosen for 2016-2024 term are also outstanding performer and won medals for their countries in sailing game.

Yann Rocherieux is the most experienced sailor in the fleet and Sofia Bekatorou is a gold medal winner in the Athens Olympics and has been awarded with Rolex World Sailor of the year for two times.

Like Us On Facebook